Poem: There Was A Time When Things Were Different

“THERE WAS A TIME WHEN THINGS WERE DIFFERENT”

“There was a time when things were different,”
My Buddy whispered to me.

“Back when I was a little guy,”
He continued wistfully,

Hopping from limb to limb, and then
He flew to another tree.

I flapped my wings and followed him,
But he was evading me.

It didn’t use to be this way –
My son used to follow me.

Now he is grown and on his own,
Soaring high and flying free,

Sunlight catching his bright red head
And flashing his bright green wings.

Prefering now to be with friends,
He’s no longer needing me.

Soon he will fly away for good,
Never again to be seen.

“There was a time when things were different,”
My Buddy repeated to me,

“Back when I was a little guy,”
He continued wistfully,

“But wherever I go, Mom, I will fly
Carried by your love for me.”

Then he flew away, not saying goodbye,
With my love tucked under his wings.

β€’

Dedicated to my son, Buddy – I love and miss you!
Β© 02/03/2014 by Aisha Abdelhamid

Click Here for the previous week OR Click Here for the next week

Submitted to the Speakeasy Grid, week #147 at yeahwrite.me – This week the prompt is the sentence, “There was a time when things were different,” to be used as the first line, and some reference to be made of the photo of the two birds at the top of the post. Like to learn more? Click this logo to join us:

;^)

51 thoughts on “Poem: There Was A Time When Things Were Different

  1. Amazingly creative way use of quotes/conversation within a poem. I have never been this brave but you inspire me to try it…someday. πŸ™‚

    I love the generational wisdom shared within …our babies fly away but they stay alight from the wisdom and warmth we have provided them. Your son is blessed to have had your nurturance. ..and we never stop missing them, do we?!! πŸ™‚

    I am happy you have found a group to share your talents with.

  2. Thank you so much for following my blog, and for your kind comment. A pleasure to meet you. I love your poem, very beautiful. Warm greetings from Finland, Maarit πŸ™‚

  3. So hard, the pull between hanging on and letting go. I like the repetition of the first four lines near the end of the poem. There is some comfort in knowing the little guy flies away strong, knowing he had his mom’s love.

  4. Thanks for sharing such a poignant, colourful, and emotive poem. I’m sure we all take something different from it, but everyone can see the love and sacrifice that shines through each line. Well done.

  5. Oh, that was so sad and so real! It made me think of my own son, still a child at 8 but so independent that I can see our future in this. Well done and beautifully written.

  6. Aww,such a sweet poem!Ah,all parents,specially Moms feel this tug.The time when their young ones need to spread their wings is very tough-on one hand they feel proud of their young ones ,on the other sad that they do not need to hold on to their mom’s hand anymore-bitter sweet emotion:-)Loved how you ended this-the son carried the love for his mother under his wings-safely tucked & it must have hurt him too -so he did not say goodbye-wonderful writing:-)

  7. Wonderfully told…it ‘s so sad when the young fly away, but necessary and if we’ve loved them well then they will fly high and strong…a great write!

    • Oooh that gives me chills, how eloquent and lovely, and also wonderful to know its from Khalil Gibran… I think his book the Prophet was my first introduction to Islam, I was about 16 whem my mom’s best friend gave it to me… maybe she understood something about me at the time that I didnt yet know about myself!
      I also liked your quote from Rumi I saw on a post on your beautiful blog! Thanks for reading this, and for your lovely comment! β™₯β™₯β™₯ ;^)

Leave a Reply

